Sunsets and Hope

I’m a night owl by nature.

I’ve seen far more sunsets than sunrises over my lifetime. I never tire of preserving them in digital posterity.

Time is visual, tangible, as the Sun speeds toward the hungry horizon. My thoughts immersed, clinging to fading, golden light.

Disappointments are buried in this death of a day. I will rise in hope, tomorrow, with fresh light to see this path I’m traveling. Thankful, for the grace of a new day.

A new day to: love, learn, grow, dream…

Sunset over the Pacific~ Oct. 2012

Creation’s Symphony

flames ripple in
languid sun-kissed reflections
amid craving fauna.
muted mirrors
illuminate liquid sunsets.
nature bows in praise,
glorifying creator
of heaven and earth.

This was my first acrostic poem. Did you notice? If you guessed it, leave the answer in comments. Thanks.

How do Sunsets inspire you?

About Debbie Bec

Welcome to my life. I wear many hats: Daughter, Sister, Wife, Mother, Grandma, Friend, Mentor, Teacher, Writer...all of my "hats" hang on the tree of my faith in Christ. This blog is about the journey of faith in all of life's joys and messiness. For "In Him we live and move and have out being" (Acts 17:28) Christ is: "Our surety of life, realized." (based on Hebrews 11:1) Does this sound strange to you or make perfect sense? We are all on this journey together. I hope my journey will spark empathy and bring encouragement to your own journey through life. Come, walk with me... ~All pictures are taken by or owned by me, unless otherwise stated.~ ~~~ About twenty years ago, as I was flipping to the next month on an inspirational calendar, my eyes were drawn to a quote. My breath hitched, a torch was lit. I had an epiphany as I read: โ€œThere are a thousand thoughts lying within a man that he does not know till he takes up the pen to write.โ€ ~William Makepeace Thackeray (how fitting is his middle name). I prayed, and I knew from that moment that being a writer was in my veins and in my future. The words and musings in my head would have an audience someday. Starting, today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunsets and Hope

  1. beautiful! flamingo!!!xo

  2. Wow, gorgeous. I’m a night owl too, and I miss the west coast like mad. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment